1. Policy matters relating to Information and Communication Technology.
  2. Information Technology Acts and Rules.
  3. Matters relating to Information Technology Enabled Services (ITES) and Internet.
  4. Information Technology Infrastructure Development like Software Technology Park of India (STPI), State Wide Area Network (SWAN), Common Services Centre (CSC), State Data Centre (SDC), Community Information Centre (CIC), etc.
  5. Promotion and Standardization of IT Education e-Learning.
  6. Matters relating to e-Governance, e-Commerce, e-Medicines, e-Infrastructure, etc.
  7. Matters relating to e-Security and Cyber Laws.
  8. Coordination of Information Technology related matters with National and International Agencies, Bodies and Institutions (NIC, NIELIT, etc.).
  9. Telecommunication and its related matters.
  10. IT related Public Sector Undertakings and Societies (ZENICS, MSeGS, etc).
  11. Matters relating to Unique Identification (UID).